Skip to Content

Board

The Board’s key responsibilities are to:

  • define the detail of policies, objectives and strategies determined by State Council
  • set and evaluate directions, priorities and performance standards for the MAV
  • appoint the CEO and monitor his or her performance
  • liaise with MAV representatives from their regions

The Rules empower the Board to pass codes of practice or protocols to supplement the Rules and guide office bearers, Board members and MAV representatives.

The Board is elected by our members every two years. The president is elected by all members. The other 12 representatives are elected by their region. See the MAV Board regions map (Word - 331KB).

The 2015 election has concluded and the MAV Board Members are presented below.

Board allowances and expenses

Under the Board allowance and expense policy, Board members receive an annual allowance paid quarterly in advance.

Board members are provided with a data allowance for accessing business papers via iPads and can claim out-of-pocket expenses for travel, parking, accommodation and meals when undertaking duties as a Board member.

The policy also allows for Board members to attend events including, the Annual Conference, Councillor Development Weekend, Asset Management Conference and Future of Local Government Summit.

As of March 2015, current endorsed allowances are:

  • President $68,578 inc 9.5% superannuation
  • Deputy president $14,139 inc 9.5% superannuation
  • Board member $9,627 inc 9.5% superannuation.

MAV Board Members

Vacant position

Interim President
Cr Coral Ross
Metropolitan South East Region
Boroondara City Council
coral.ross@boroondara.vic.gov.au

Cr Angela Altair

Metropolitan Deputy President
Cr Angela Altair
Hobsons Bay City Council
aaltair@hobsonsbay.vic.gov.au​

Cr David Clark

Rural Deputy President
Cr David Clark
Rural South Central Region
Pyrenees Shire Council
ercildoune@pyrenees.vic.gov.au

Cr Geoff Lake

Cr Geoff Lake
Metropolitan Southern Region
Monash City Council
geoff.lake@monash.vic.gov.au

Cr Angela Altair

Cr Angela Altair
Metropolitan West Region
Hobsons Bay City Council
aaltair@hobsonsbay.vic.gov.au​

Cr Rod Fyffe

Cr Rod Fyffe
Rural North Central Region
Greater Bendigo City Council
r.fyffe@bendigo.vic.gov.au

Cr Gary Norton

Cr Gary Norton
Rural North West Region
Swan Hill Rural City Council
gary.norton@swanhill.vic.gov.au

Cr Ruth Gstrein

​Cr Ruth Gstrein
Rural South West Region
Corangamite Shire Council
ruth.gstrein@corangamite.vic.gov.au

Cr Malcolm Hole

Cr Malcolm Hole
Rural Gippsland Region
Wellington Shire Council
malcolm.hole@wellington.vic.gov.au

Vacant position

Vacant
Interface Region

Cr Bernadene Voss

Cr Bernadene Voss
Metropolitan Central Region
City of Port Phillip
bvoss@portphillip.vic.gov.au

Cr Tom Melican

Cr Tom Melican
Metropolitan East Region
Banyule City Council
tom.melican@banyule.vic.gov.au

Cr Ronald Janas

Cr Ronald Janas
Rural North East Region
Alpine Shire Council
ronj@alpineshire.vic.gov.au

More information