Skip to Content

Board

The Board

The Board’s key responsibilities are to:

  • define the detail of policies, objectives and strategies determined by State Council
  • set and evaluate directions, priorities and performance standards for the MAV
  • appoint the CEO and monitor his or her performance
  • liaise with MAV representatives from their regions

The Rules empower the Board to pass codes of practice or protocols to supplement the Rules and guide office bearers, Board members and MAV representatives.

The Board is elected by our members every two years. The president is elected by all members. The other 12 representatives are elected by their region. See the MAV Board regions map (Word - 331KB).

The MAV Board Members are presented below.

Board allowances and expenses

Under the Board allowance and expense policy, Board members receive an annual allowance paid quarterly in advance.

Board members are provided with a data allowance for accessing business papers via iPads and can claim out-of-pocket expenses for travel, parking, accommodation and meals when undertaking duties as a Board member.

The policy also allows for Board members to attend events including, the Annual Conference, Councillor Development Weekend, Asset Management Conference and Future of Local Government Summit.

As of July 2016, current endorsed allowances are:

  • President $72,159.40 inc 9.5% superannuation
  • Deputy president $14,876.61 inc 9.5% superannuation
  • Board member $10,129.52 inc 9.5% superannuation.

MAV Board Members

Cr Mary Lalios

President
Cr Mary Lalios
0447 189 409
City of Whittlesea
mlalios@mav.asn.au​

Cr Jami Klisaris

Deputy President
Cr Jami Klisaris
Metro South East
City of Stonnington
jklisaris@stonnington.vic.gov.au

Cr David Clark Deputy President
Cr David Clark
Rural South Central Region
Pyrenees Shire Council
ercildoune@pyrenees.vic.gov.au
Cr Josh Gilligan

Cr Josh Gilligan
Metropolitan West Region

Wyndham City Council
josh.gilligan@wyndham.vic.gov.au

Cr Geoff Lake

Cr Geoff Lake
Metropolitan Southern Region
Monash City Council
geoff.lake@monash.vic.gov.au

Cr Rod Fyffe

Cr Rod Fyffe
Rural North Central Region
City of Greater Bendigo
r.fyffe@bendigo.vic.gov.au

Cr Gary Norton

Cr Gary Norton
Rural North West Region
Swan Hill Rural City Council
gary.norton@swanhill.vic.gov.au

Cr Ruth Gstrein

​Cr Ruth Gstrein
Rural South West Region
Corangamite Shire Council
ruth.gstrein@corangamite.vic.gov.au

Cr Peter Perkins

Cr Peter Perkins
Interface
Nillumbik Shire Council
peter.perkins@nillumbik.vic.gov.au

Cr Rohan Leppert

Cr Rohan Leppert
Metropolitan Central Region
City of Melbourne
rohan.leppert@melbourne.vic.gov.au

Cr Tom Melican

Cr Tom Melican
Metropolitan East Region
Banyule City Council
tom.melican@banyule.vic.gov.au

Cr Ronald Janas

Cr Ronald Janas
Rural North East Region
Alpine Shire Council
ronj@alpineshire.vic.gov.au

Cr Malcolm Hole

Cr Malcolm Hole
Rural Gippsland Region
Wellington Shire Council
malcolm.hole@wellington.vic.gov.au

More information


​​​​