Skip to Content

Board

The Board’s key responsibilities are to:

  • define the detail of policies, objectives and strategies determined by State Council
  • set and evaluate directions, priorities and performance standards for the MAV
  • appoint the CEO and monitor his or her performance
  • liaise with MAV representatives from their regions

The Rules empower the Board to pass codes of practice or protocols to supplement the Rules and guide office bearers, Board members and MAV representatives.

The Board is elected by our members every two years. The president is elected by all members. The other 12 representatives are elected by their region.

The next election is scheduled for March 2015.

Board allowances & expenses

Under the Board allowance and expense policy, Board members receive an annual allowance paid quarterly in advance.

Board members are provided with a data allowance for accessing business papers via iPads and can claim out-of-pocket expenses for travel, parking, accommodation and meals when undertaking duties as a Board member.

The policy also allows for Board members to attend events including, the Annual Conference, Councillor Development Weekend, Asset Management Conference and Future of Local Government Summit.

As of July 2012, current endorsed allowances are:

  • President $59,031
  • Deputy president $12,169
  • Board member $8,286
Cr Bill McArthur

President
Cr Bill McArthur
bmcarthur@mav.asn.au

Cr Mary Lalios

​Deputy president (metro)
Cr Mary Lalios
Interface Region
Whittlesea City Council
mary.lalios@whittlesea.vic.gov.au

Cr David Clark

​Deputy president (rural)
Cr David Clark
Rural South Central Region
Pyrenees Shire Council
ercildoune@pyrenees.vic.gov.au

Cr Jackie Fristacky

​Cr Jackie Fristacky
Metropolitan Central Region
Yarra City Council
jackie.fristacky@yarracity.vic.gov.au

Cr Peter Lockwood

​Cr Peter Lockwood
Metropolitan East Region
Knox City Council
peter.lockwood@knox.vic.gov.au

Cr Coral Ross

​Cr Coral Ross
Meropolitan South East Region
Boroondara City Council
coral.ross@boroondara.vic.gov.au

Cr Geoff Lake

​Cr Geoff Lake
Metropolitan Southern Region
Monash City Council
geoff.lake@monash.vic.gov.au

Cr Angela Altair

​Cr Angela Altair
Metropolitan West Region
Hobsons Bay City Council
aaltair@hobsonsbay.vic.gov.au

Cr Rod Fyffe

Cr Rod Fyffe
Rural North Central Region
Greater Bendigo City Council
r.fyffe@bendigo.vic.gov.au

Cr Debra Swan

​Cr Debra Swan
Rural North East Region
Strathbogie Shire Council
debra.swan@strathbogie.vic.gov.au

Cr Gary Norton

Cr Gary Norton
Rural North West
Swan Hill Rural City Council
gary.norton@swanhill.vic.gov.au 

Cr Ruth Gstrein

​Cr Ruth Gstrein
Rural South West Region
Corangamite Shire Council
ruth.gstrein@corangamite.vic.gov.au

Cr Jane Rowe

​Cr Jane Rowe
Rural Gippsland Region
East Gippsland Shire Council
cr.rowe@egipps.vic.gov.au

 

 

 Related event

 
 

 Related document

 
  
  
MAV Board regions map.docxMAV Board regions map
 

 Related link