Skip to Content

State Council & representatives

State Council is our governing body. It is made up of representatives from each member council.

The State Council’s powers include:

State Council meets twice a year, or more if needed. Members can submit business to be considered by the State Council in accordance with the MAV Rules.

Resolutions are assessed by the Board to determine how they will be progressed. Updates on the progress made against each resolution are sent to members before the next meeting.

Members must appoint a representative to attend State Council meetings, exercise their council’s vote and provide regular reports to their council on our activities. The MAV representatives protocol explains this role in more detail.

2016 State Council resolutions

See all motions adopted in the May and September 2016 State Councils:

You can also listen to a recording of the full September 2016 State Council meeting.


Appointments for MAV representatives will be made after council elections.

​MAV representatives
Alpine Shire Council  
Ararat Rural City Council  
Ballarat City Council  
​Banyule City Council  
Bass Coast Shire Council ​​
Baw Baw Shire Council  
Bayside City Council  
Benalla Rural City Council  
Boroondara City Council  
Brimbank City Council  
Buloke Shire Council
Campaspe Shire Council  
Cardinia Shire Council  
Casey City Council  
Central Goldfields Shire Council  
Colac Otway Shire Council  
Corangamite Shire Council  
​Darebin City Council  
East Gippsland Shire Council  
Gannawarra Shire Council  
Glen Eira City Council
​​Glenelg Shire Council
Golden Plains Shire Council
Greater Bendigo City Council
​Greater Dandenong City Council
​​Greater Geelong City Council ​Dr Kathy Alexander
Greater Shepparton City Council
Hepburn Shire Council  
​​Hindmarsh Shire Council
Hobsons Bay City Council
​​Horsham Rural City Council
​​Hume City Council
​​Indigo Shire Council
Kingston City Council
​​​Knox City Council  
​Latrobe City Council
Loddon Shire Council  
Macedon Ranges Shire Council  
Manningham City Council  
Mansfield Shire Council  
​​​Maribyrnong City Council  
​Maroondah City Council  
Melbourne City Council
Melton City Council
​​​Mildura Rural City Council  
​​​Mitchell Shire Council  
​Moira Shire Council  
Monash City Council  
Moonee Valley City Council  
​​Moorabool Shire Council  
Moreland City Council  
​Mornington Peninsula Shire Council  
Mount Alexander Shire Council ​​
Moyne Shire Council  
Murrindindi Shire Council  
Nillumbik Shire Council  
​​Northern Grampians Shire Council  
Port Philip City Council  
Pyrenees Shire Council  
​​​​Queenscliffe Borough Council  
​​​South Gippsland Shire Council  
​Southern Grampians Shire Council
​Stonnington City Council
​Strathbogie Shire Council
​​​Surf Coast Shire Council  
​​​Swan Hill Rural City Council
Towong Shire Council  
​Wangaratta Rural City Council  
​​Warrnambool City Council  
Wellington Shire Council
​West Wimmera Shire Council  
Whitehorse City Council  
​​Whittlesea City Council
​Wodonga City Council
​​Wyndham City Council
​Yarra City Council  
​​Yarra Ranges Shire Council
​​Yarriambiack Shire Council

More information


 Related documents

State Council resolutions - May 2016.docxState Council resolutions - May 2016
State Council resolution report - Recommended actions - Sep 2016.pdfState Council resolution report - Recommended actions - Sep 2016
State Council resolutions - Sep 2016.docxState Council resolutions - Sep 2016
State Council Motions received from membership - Sep 2016.pdfState Council Motions received from membership - Sep 2016

 Members only


 Related link


 Past resolutions

State Council resolutions - May 2008.docx
State Council resolutions - May 2009.docx
State Council resolutions - May 2010.docx
State Council resolutions - May 2011.docx
State Council resolutions - May 2012.docx
State Council resolutions - May 2013.docx
State Council resolutions - May 2014.docx
State Council resolutions - May 2015.docx
State Council resolutions - Oct 2008.docx
State Council resolutions - Oct 2009.docx
State Council resolutions - Oct 2010.docx
State Council resolutions - Oct 2011.doc
State Council resolutions - Oct 2013.docx
State Council resolutions - Oct 2014.docx
State Council resolutions - Oct 2015.docx
State Council resolutions - Sep 2012.docx