Skip to Content

Resource sharing protocol

In association with the Municipal Emergency Management Enhancement Group we identified a need to determine an agreed position between councils regarding the provision of resources to assist other municipalities with response and recovery tasks during and after emergencies.

This led to the development of a protocol for inter-council emergency management resource sharing (Word - 121KB). The protocol is intended to clarify operational, insurance and reimbursement issues that may arise through municipal resource-sharing arrangements.

All councils were invited to provide input to a draft version of the protocol in October 2006.

In developing the protocol, we consulted the Office of the Emergency Services Commissioner, Civic Mutual Plus (now Liability Mutual Insurance), WorkSafe Victoria and the Victorian Managed Insurance Authority.

The protocol is consistent with the concepts and policy guidelines articulated in the Emergency Management Act 1986 and the Emergency Management Manual Victoria. It has been endorsed by the MAV Board.

Council adoption of the protocol is voluntary. It is not intended to inhibit or diminish the effectiveness of any existing inter-council resource sharing arrangement. Councils should review any existing arrangements to ensure that issues identified in this protocol are addressed.

Councils can opt in or out of the protocol arrangements at any time by notifying us in writing.

Protocol signatories

Councils that are currently signatories are formally indicating their support for the principles of the protocol:

Protocol signatories
Alpine Shire Council Greater Geelong City Council Mornington Peninsula Shire Council
Ararat Rural City Council Greater Shepparton City Council Mount Alexander Shire Council
Ballarat City Council Hepburn Shire Council Moyne Shire Council
Banyule City Council Hindmarsh Shire Council Murrindindi Shire Council
Bass Coast Shire Council Hobsons Bay City Council Nillumbik Shire Council
​Baw Baw Shire Council Horsham Rural City Council Northern Grampians Shire Council
Bayside City Council Hume City Council Port Phillip City Council
Benalla Rural City Council Indigo Shire Council Pyrenees Shire Council
Boroondara City Council Kingston City Council Queenscliffe Borough Council
Brimbank City Council Knox City Council South Gippsland Shire Council
Buloke Shire Council Latrobe City Council Southern Grampians Shire Council
Campaspe Shire Council Loddon Shire Council Stonnington City Council
Cardinia Shire Council Macedon Ranges Shire Council Strathbogie Shire Council
Casey City Council Mansfield Shire Council Surf Coast Shire Council
Central Goldfields Shire Council Maribyrnong City Council Towong Shire Council
Colac Otway Shire Council Maroondah City Council Wangaratta Rural City Council
Corangamite Shire Council Melbourne City Council Warrnambool City Council
Darebin City Council Melton Shire Council Wellington Shire Council
East Gippsland Shire Council Mildura Rural City Council West Wimmera Shire Council
Frankston City Council Mitchell Shire Council Whitehorse City Council
Gannawarra Shire Council Moira Shire Council Whittlesea City Council
Golden Plains Shire Council Monash City Council Wodonga City Council
Greater Bendigo City Council Moonee Valley City Council Wyndham City Council
​​Greater Dandenong City Council Moorabool Shire Council Yarra Ranges Shire Council
​​Moreland City Council Yarriambiack Shire Council

Useful resources