Skip to Content

WorkCare


WorkCare is a workers’ compensation self-insurance scheme for local government employers.  

The new scheme is scheduled to begin on 1 November 2017, and will produce significant benefits for its initial 31 member councils and their employees. These benefits include:

  • sustained and measurable improvements in workplace safety
  • lower costs​ to councils through reductions in the incidence of avoidable injuries
  • effectively and appropriately managed claims
  • optimal return to work initiatives and programs.

Member councils in other states have significantly improved their workplace health and safety performance, with a reduction in the incidence and severity of injuries and the cost of claims, and significant reductions in annual premiums.

Our team is passionate about achieving better outcomes for workers and their families, and the Victorian community, by helping to make workplaces safer and by ensuring that injured workers receive the compensation and rehabilitation services that they are entitled to.

 

Contacts

Phone: 9667 5505
Email: workcare@mav.asn.au

Peter Ryan
Director, MAV WorkCare
pryan@mav.asn.au

Bernadette Brennan
OHS Manager
bbrennan@mav.asn.au

Erin Sidgwick
Return to Work Manager
esidgwick@mav.asn.au

Gaurav Malhotra
System Reporting Analyst
gmalhotra@mav.asn.au

Nabeel Nizam
Claims Manager
nnizam@mav.asn.au

Rylee Agius
Administrative Assistant
ragius@mav.asn.au​​​​​​​