Long term community service celebrated

Publish date:

Do you remember busting a move to Kylie Minogue’s Locomotion? It was 1987 – 35 years ago – undoubtedly a long time in music, but an extraordinary length of time to have served your community.

And yet that’s precisely how long Cr Rod Fyffe has been doing just that as a councillor for City of Greater Bendigo.

Cr Fyffe is among 56 recipients of the Municipal Association of Victoria’s (MAV) Councillor Services Awards, celebrating the achievements, commitment and dedication of long-serving councillors across the state.

MAV President, Cr David Clark, said serving one’s community through your local council is a unique responsibility.

“Communities need dedicated individuals, like those receiving these awards, who are willing to give their time and energy to serve in the best interests of the people and their local communities,” Cr Clark said.

“The MAV has the great privilege of seeing firsthand the hard work and hours dedicated councillors put into their role – often on top of their day job. It’s wonderful to provide some recognition.”

The Councillor Service Awards acknowledge the efforts and remarkable contribution of elected councillors. Their commitment to public service deserves to be celebrated.

“They might say all politics is local, but councils are the true local representatives. We have the closest ties to our communities because we are products of our community. It’s a great honour, but equally a responsibility I know all of these recipients take very seriously,” Cr Clark said.


Cr Anthony Aitken, City of Greater Geelong
Cr Jo Beard, Corangamite Shire Council
Cr Antoinette Briffa, Hobson’s Bay City Council
Cr Belinda Coates, City of Ballarat
Cr Tonia Dudzik, Moorabool Shire Council
Cr David Edwards, Moorabool Shire Council
Cr John Forsyth, Alpine Shire Council
Cr Rob Guthrie, Macedon Ranges Shire Council
Cr Dale Harriman, Latrobe City Council
Cr Richard Higgins, Yarra Ranges Council
Cr Ron Janas, Alpine Shire Council
Cr Amy Johnson, City of Ballarat
Cr Tricia Jones, Baw Baw Shire Council
Cr Michelle Kleinert, Manningham City Council
Cr Eddy Kontelj, City of Greater Geelong
Cr Rohan Leppert, City of Melbourne
Cr Fiona McAllister, Yarra Ranges Council
Cr Graeme Moore, Cardinia Shire Council
Cr Cameron Nation, City of Moonee Valley
Cr Ron Nelson, City of Greater Geelong
Cr Sean O’Reilly, Greater Dandenong Council
Cr Aaron Scales, Towong Shire Council
Cr Nicole Seymour, Knox City Council
Cr Paul Sladdin, Mansfield Shire Council
Cr Paul Tatchell, Moorabool Shire Council
Cr Suzette Tayler, Frankston City Council
Cr Theo Zographos, City of Monash


Cr Bob Cornish, Mitchell Shire Council
Cr Peter Davis, Benalla Shire Council
Cr Stephen Hart, Colac Otway Shire Council
Cr Ben Stennett, City of Whitehorse


Cr Jim Doukas, Moyne Shire Council
Cr Mark Eckel, Mildura Rural City Council
Cr Des Hudson, City of Ballarat
Cr Geoff Lovett, Central Goldfields Shire Council
Cr Katrina Rainsford, Southern Grampians Shire Council
Cr Sophie Ramsey, City of Melton
Cr Karen Stephens, Glenelg Shire Council


Cr Peter Beales, Ararat Rural City Council
Cr Alex del Porto, Bayside City Council
Cr Geoff Gough, Manningham City Council
Cr Graeme Middlemiss, Latrobe City Council
Cr Tom Sullivan, Moorabool Shire Council


Cr Ron Brownlees OAM, City of Kingston


Cr Rod Fyffe OAM, City of Greater Bendigo


Cr Neil Beattie, Loddon Shire Council
Cr Jim Child, Yarra Ranges Council
Cr Michael Clarke, Maribyrnong City Council
Cr Tony Driscoll, Northern Grampians Shire Council
Cr Peter Hemphill, Hobsons Bay City Council
Cr Ron Ismay, Hindmarsh Shire Council
Cr Angela Long, Greater Dandenong Council
Cr Kathy Majdlik, City of Melton
Cr Carly Moore, Hume City Council
Cr Andrew Munroe, City of Whitehorse
Cr Brett Owen, Cardinia City Council
Cr Anita Rank, Glenelg Shire Council
Cr Dean Rees, Rural City of Wangaratta
Cr Rhonda Sanderson, Mitchell Shire Council
Cr Steve Staikos, City of Kingston
Cr Tom Sullivan, Moorabool Shire Council
Cr Brett Tessari, Bass Coast Shire Council
Cr Adrian Weston, Campaspe Shire Council