Vic Councils

The 79 Victorian local government authorities, also known as local councils, play an important role in looking after communities by delivering 100+ services, caring for the environment, managing land and community infrastructure.

As the third level of government in Australia, established under the Local Government Act 1989, democratically elected councillors and employees manage assets while working in collaboration with the Victorian and Australian governments.

To learn more about local government, visit the Vic Councils website for resident, business, job seeker, volunteer and prospective councillor information.

Local government facts

Snapshot of local government in Victoria

  • Victoria has 79 municipalities:
    • 31 metropolitan (including 10 interface councils)
    • 48 rural and regional (including 10 regional cities)
    • Populations range from fewer than 3,000 to more than 340,000
    • Land area varies from 10.8 sq km to 22,000 sq km
    • Each also varies in rate base, needs, infrastructure and resources.
  • Each municipality manages significantly different budgets:
    • Rural council budgets average $67 million (smallest is approximately $10.3 million)
    • Metropolitan council budgets average $219 million (largest is approximately $705 million)
  • Governed by 641 democratically elected councillors:
    • 400 male councillors
    • 240 female councillors
  • Employs 43,469 people
    • 26,283 female employees
    • 17,106 male employees
    • 7 gender neutral employees
  • Annual revenue of $11.6 billion
  • Responsible for more than $110 billion in community infrastructure and assets such as roads, bridges, town halls, recreation and leisure facilities, drains, libraries and parks.