SWIFT Library Consortium

What we are doing

The SWIFT Library Consortium involves 24 public libraries and councils working collaboratively to improve the efficiency and quality of library services.

This collaboration provides library users with resources and collections they may not otherwise be able to access.

Consortium members share a bibliographic database and library management system, SirsiDynix Symphony.

The back of house contract for one Library Management System enables new policy directions to be effectively and efficiently implemented. For example, the Swift One Card System enabling library members to borrow anywhere, return anywhere and pay anywhere, directly from any Swift library in the state was introduced in July 2015.


The following Victorian and New South Wales councils and libraries are consortium members:

Buloke Shire LibrariesMelton City Council Library
​​Campaspe Regional Mildura Rural City Council Library Service
Casey-Cardinia Library Corporation ​Mitchell Shire Library
Central Highlands LibrariesSwan Hill Regional Library Service
City of Greater DandenongTowong Shire Libraries
Gannawarra Shire CouncilWellington Shire Council
Goulburn Ovens TAFEWest Gippsland Regional Library Corporation
Goulburn Valley Regional Library Corporation ​​Wimmera Regional Library Corporation
High Country Library Corporation ​​Wodonga Library
Indigo Shire LibrariesYarra City Council
Latrobe City Council 
​New South Wales
Burwood CouncilStrathfield Council
Inner West Council 

Our SWIFT Consortium Management Group manages the ongoing implementation of shared library services contracts and policies.

Related websites

Contact us

For further information contact: