Protocol for inter-council resource sharing

In association with the Municipal Emergency Management Enhancement Group (MEMEG), we identified a need to determine an agreed position between councils regarding the provision of resources to assist other municipalities with response and recovery tasks during and after emergencies.

This led to the development of a protocol for inter-council emergency management resource sharing (Word - 121KB). The protocol is intended to clarify operational, insurance and reimbursement issues that may arise through municipal resource-sharing arrangements.

The protocol is consistent with the concepts and policy guidelines articulated in the Emergency Management Act 1986 and the Emergency Management Manual Victoria. It has been endorsed by the MAV Board.

Council adoption of the protocol is voluntary. It is not intended to inhibit or diminish the effectiveness of any existing inter-council resource sharing arrangement. Councils should review any existing arrangements to ensure that issues identified in this protocol are addressed.

Councils are asked to recommit to the protocol every three years. They can opt in or out of the protocol arrangements at any time by notifying us in writing.

MAV Human Resource Sharing Database links:

Protocol signatories

Councils that are currently signatories are formally indicating their support for the principles of the protocol.Under the Alpine Resorts (Management) Act 1997, the board of an alpine resort is deemed to be a municipal council for the purposes of the Emergency Management Act (1986). Therefore alpine resorts are eligible to be signatories to the protocol.

Protocol signatories
Alpine Shire Council Hindmarsh Shire Council Mount Alexander Shire Council
Ararat Rural City Council Hobsons Bay City Council Moyne Shire Council
Ballarat City Council Horsham Rural City Council Mt Hotham Alpine Resort
Banyule City CouncilHume City Council Murrindindi Shire Council
Baw Baw Shire Council Indigo Shire Council Nillumbik Shire Council
Bayside City Council Kingston City Council Northern Grampians Shire Council
Boroondara City Council Knox City Council Port Phillip City Council
Brimbank City Council Latrobe City Council Pyrenees Shire Council
Buloke Shire Council Loddon Shire Council Queenscliffe Borough Council
Campaspe Shire Council Macedon Ranges Shire Council South Gippsland Shire Council
Cardinia Shire Council Manningham City Council Southern Alpine  Resort Management Board
Casey City Council Mansfield Shire Council Southern Grampians Shire Council
Central Goldfields Shire Council Maribyrnong City Council Strathbogie Shire Council
Colac Otway Shire Council Maroondah City Council Stonnington City Council
Corangamite Shire Council Melbourne City Council Surf Coast Shire Council
Darebin City Council Melton City Council Towong Shire Council
East Gippsland Shire Council Mildura Rural City Council Wangaratta Rural City Council
Falls Creek Resort Management Mitchell Shire Council West Wimmera Shire Council
Gannawarra Shire Council Moira Shire Council Whitehorse City Council
Glenelg Shire Council Monash City Council Whittlesea City Council
Golden Plains Shire Council Moonee Valley City CouncilWodonga City Council
Greater Bendigo City Council Moorabool Shire Council Wyndham City
Greater Dandenong City Council Moreland City Council Yarra City Council
Greater Shepparton City Council Mornington Peninsula Shire Council Yarra Ranges Shire Council
Hepburn Shire Council  Yarriambiack Shire Council