External committees

As the peak body for local government, the MAV represents or nominates representatives for the sector on a range of external committees and other bodies.

Representation on these committees provides an important opportunity to present local government views and input, as well as advocate and influence policy outcomes.

In 2017, the MAV or our nominated representative(s) were appointed to the following external committees:

Aboriginal Maternal and Child Health Committee State Crisis and Resilience Council (SCRC)
Alliance for Gambling Reform
SCRC Capability and Response Sub-committee
ANZAC Commemorative Naming Program Committee SCRC Relief and Recovery Sub-committee
Building Stakeholder Reference Group SCRC Risk and Resilience Sub-committee
Commissioner for Environmental Sustainability’s Reference Group Social Services Taskforce
Councils and Emergencies Reference Group State Elder Abuse Prevention and Response Advisory Group
Cultural Development Network Board
State Emergency Management Team
Dental Health Services Victoria Population Health Committee State Environmental Protection Policy (Water) Stakeholder Reference Committee
Department of Education and Training – Early Childhood Development Advisory Group State Fire Management Planning Committee
Department of Transport Older Road Users Stakeholder Reference Group State Library Advisory Committee on Public Libraries
DELWP Safer Together Cross Tenure strategic planning working group State Roadmap for Reform Ministerial Advisory Group
Earth Resources Ministerial Advisory Committee State Vulnerable Children and Youth Implementation Group
Earth Resources Stakeholder Reference Group TAC Local Government Small Scale Infrastructure Grants Program
Elder Abuse and Safeguarding Advisory Group TAC Local Government Towards Zero Working Group    
Emergency Management Joint Public Information Committee Tech Schools Statewide Policy Implementation Panel
EMV Emergency Management Planning Guidelines Reference Group VicRoads Rural Reference Group
EMV Road Infrastructure Emergency Management Working Group VicRoads Safety Alliance
Essential Services Commission – Engagement Technical Working Group VicRoads Smartroads Reference Group        
Family Violence Steering Committee and Industry Taskforce VicRoads Transport Users Forum
Federal Blackspot Consultative Panel Victorian Children’s Council
Improving safety at passive level crossings working group Victorian Commission for Liquor and Gambling Regulation – Liquor Licensing Community Stakeholder Forum
Infringements Standing Advisory Committee Victorian Community Care Departmental Advisory Committee    
Intensive Animal Industries Interdepartmental Committee Victorian Emergency Animal Welfare Committee
Local Government Aboriginal Partnerships Project Steering Committee Victorian Flood Warning Consultative Committee
Local Government Performance Reporting Steering Committee Victorian Floodplain Management
Marrung Central Governance Committee Strategy Implementation Reference Committee
Melbourne Water Flood Strategy Implementation Advisory Committee
Victorian Food Regulators Forum
Melbourne Water Health Waterways Strategy Victorian Litter Action Alliance
Project Leadership Team Victorian Pedestrian Advisory Council
Ministerial Taskforce on Prevention of Family Violence and other forms of violence against women
Victoria Police Seniors Portfolio Reference Group
Municipal Emergency Management Enhancement Group Victorian Police Vehicle Theft Stakeholders Symposium
National Aged Care Home Support Advisory Group Victorian Pollution Operation Group – State Marine Pollution Committee
National Local Government Cultural Forum Victorian Primary and Community Health Network
NDIS Implementation Taskforce Victorian Railway Crossing Safety Steering Committee 
Noise External Reference Group Victorian Rural Drainage Strategy Interdepartmental Reference Group
Open Government Partnership – Australia Victorian School Safety Panel
PTV Public Transport Operators Committee Victorian Volunteer Strategy Taskforce
Public Service Medal Committee Victorian Waterways Strategy Stakeholder Reference Committee
Relief and Recovery Communications Working Group VicTrack Interface Agreement Working Group
Residential Zones Implementation Industry & Local Government Working Groups Waste Governance Reform State Transition Committee
Road Freight Advisory Council Worksafe Stakeholder Reference Group