Events and training

Councillor Development Program

The MAV Councillor Development Program offers a range of learning and development opportunities, to assist councillors build the skills and knowledge required to effectively perform their role as prescribed in the Local Government Act 2020.

In 2022 we will offer our training workshops as combination of Online & In Person events. Should we need to make a change based on current COVID-19 advise, we will contact registered attendees prior to the event. For more information about the current restrictions in Victoria visit: www.dhhs.vic.gov.au/coronavirus.

For more information please contact learningandevents@mav.asn.au.

2022 Councillor Development Calendar

For detailed information such as costs and program outlines please click on the ‘Details’ link.

CourseDateTimeFormatDetails
Land Use Planning & Building
(This workshop is inclusive of 2 online sessions)
Session 1: Wednesday 13 July
Session 2: Wednesday 20 July
Session 1: 1:30pm-5pm
Session 2: 1:30pm-5pm
Online Details
Strategic Planning and Decision Making Friday 15 July 9:30am-4:30pm Online Details
Community Leadership Thursday 21 July 9:30am-4:30pm In Person Details
Understanding Council Finances Thursday 28 July 10am-1pm Online Details
Social Media Thursday 4 August 9:30am-3:30pm In Person Details
Sexual Harassment Prevention Thursday 11 August 9:30am-1pm Online Details
Conflict ManagementFriday 12 August9:30am-4:30pmIn PersonDetails
Managing the CEO Employment Cycle Thursday 18 August 9.30am-1.30pm In Person Details
Meeting Procedures Friday 19 August 10am-4:30pm In Person Details
Resilience and Wellbeing Thursday 25 August 9:30am-4:30pm In Person Details
Emotional Intelligence Thursday 1 September 9:30am-4:30pm In Person Details
Presentation & Public Speaking Skills Thursday 15 September 1pm-5pm In Person Details
Understanding Council Finances Thursday 20 October 10am-1pm Online Details
Discrimination, Bullying & Harassment Wednesday 26 October 9:30am-1pm Online Details
Media Training Thursday 27 October 1pm-5pm In Person Details
Sexual Harassment Prevention Thursday 3 November 9:30am-1pm Online Details
Strategic Planning and Decision Making Thursday 10 November  9:30am-4:30pm In Person Details
Land Use Planning & Building Thursday 17 November 9:30am-4:30pm Online Details
Meeting Procedures Friday 25 November 9:30am-4:30pm OnlineDetails
Presentation & Public Speaking Skills Thursday 1 December 1pm-5pm OnlineDetails