Events and training

Councillor Development Program

The MAV Councillor Development Program offers a range of learning and development opportunities, to assist councillors build the skills and knowledge required to effectively perform their role as prescribed in the Local Government Act 2020

In 2022 we will offer our training workshops as combination of Online & In Person events. Should we need to make a change based on current COVID-19 advise, we will contact registered attendees prior to the event. For more information about the current restrictions in Victoria visit: www.dhhs.vic.gov.au/coronavirus.

For more information please contact learningandevents@mav.asn.au.

2022 Councillor Development Calendar

For detailed information such as costs and program outlines please click on the ‘Details’ link.

Course Date Time Format Details
Strategic Planning and Decision Making
(This workshop is inclusive of 2 online sessions) 
Session 1: Thursday 3 February
Session 2: Thursday 10 February
Session 1: 9:30am-1:30pm
Session 2: 9:30am-11:30am
OnlineDetails
Media Training Thursday 17 February 1pm-5pm Online Details
Understanding Council Finances Thursday 24 February 10am-1pm OnlineDetails
Meeting Procedures Friday 25 February 9:30am-2pm Online Details
Discrimination, Bullying & HarassmentWednesday 2 March 9:30am-1pm Online Details
Social Media Friday 18 March  9:30am-4:30pmOnline Details
Land Use Planning & Building
(This workshop is inclusive of 2 online sessions)
Session 1: Wednesday 23 March
Session 2: Thursday 24 March
Session 1: 1:30pm-5pm
Session 2: 1:30pm-5pm
OnlineDetails
Dealing with Difficult People Friday 25 March 9:30am-4:30pmOnline Details
Sexual Harassment Prevention Wednesday 30 March 9:30am-1pm Online Details
Chairing Meetings for Mayors Thursday 31 March 9:30am-2pm Online Details
Presentation & Public Speaking SkillsThursday 7 April 1pm-5pm Online Details
Managing the CEO Employment Cycle Friday 8 April9:30am-1:30pm In PersonDetails
Understanding Council Finances Thursday 28 April 10am-1pm Online Details
Conflict Management Friday 29 April 9:30am-4:30pmIn Person Details
Speed Reading Thursday 12 May 9:30am-4:30pm In Person Details
Negotiation and Influencing Friday 20 May 9:30am-4:30pm In Person Details
Media Training Thursday 9 June 1pm-5pm In Person Details
Land Use Planning & Building
(This workshop is inclusive of 2 online sessions) 
Session 1: Friday 10 June
Session 2: Friday 17 June 
Session 1: 1:30pm-5pm
Session 2: 1:30pm-5pm
OnlineDetails
Effective Communication Skills Wednesday 15 June9:30am-4:30pm In PersonDetails
Discrimination, Bullying & HarassmentThursday 23 June9:30am-1pm Online Details
Strategic Planning and Decision Making Friday 15 July9:30am-4:30pmIn PersonDetails
Community Leadership Thursday 21 July 9:30am-4:30pmIn PersonDetails
Understanding Council Finances Thursday 28 July 10am-1pmOnline Details
Social Media Thursday 4 August 9:30am-3:30pm In PersonDetails
Sexual Harassment Prevention Thursday 11 August 9:30am-1pm Online Details
Meeting Procedures Friday 19 August 9:30am-4:30pm In PersonDetails
Resilience and Wellbeing Thursday 25 August 9:30am-4:30pm In Person Details
Emotional IntelligenceThursday 1 September 9:30am-4:30pm In PersonDetails
Presentation & Public Speaking Skills Thursday 15 September 1pm-5pm In Person Details
Discrimination, Bullying & HarassmentThursday 13 October 9:30am-1pm Online Details
Understanding Council Finances Thursday 20 October 10am-1pm Online Details
Media Training Thursday 27 October 1pm-5pm In Person Details
Sexual Harassment Prevention Thursday 2 November 9:30am-1pm Online Details
Strategic Planning and Decision Making Thursday 10 November  9:30am-4:30pm In PersonDetails
Land Use Planning & Building Thursday 17 November 9:30am-4:30pm In Person Details
Meeting Procedures Friday 25 November 9:30am-4:30pm In PersonDetails
Presentation & Public Speaking SkillsThursday 1 December 1pm-5pm In Person Details