Board

MAV Board Members

Cr David Clark

MAV President
Cr David Clark
Pyrenees Shire Council
dclark@mav.asn.au

Cr Rohan LeppertDeputy President Metro
Cr Rohan Leppert
Metro Central Region
City of Melbourne
rohan.leppert@melbourne.vic.gov.au
Cr Ruth GstreinDeputy President Rural
Cr Ruth Gstrein
Rural South West Region
Corangamite Shire Council
ruth.gstrein@corangamite.vic.gov.au
Cr Joseph Haweil Cr Joseph Haweil
Interface Region
Hume City Council
josephh@hume.vic.gov.au
Cr Tom Melican Cr Tom Melican
Metro East Region
City of Banyule
tom.melican@banyule.vic.gov.au
Cr Jami Klisaris Cr Jami Klisaris
Metro South East
City of Stonnington
jklisaris@stonnington.vic.gov.au
Cr Kristopher Bolam Cr Kristopher Bolam
Metro Southern Region
City of Frankston
crbolam@frankston.vic.gov.au
Cr Kathy Majdlik  Cr Kathy Majdlik
Metro West Region 
City of Melton
kathy.majdlik@melton.vic.gov.au
Cr Brett Tessari Cr Brett Tessari
Rural Gippsland Region
Bass Coast Shire Council
brett.tessari@basscoast.vic.gov.au
Cr Jennifer Anderson Cr Jennifer Anderson
Rural North Central Region
Macedon Ranges Shire Council
janderson@mrsc.vic.gov.au
Cr Aaron Scales Cr Aaron Scales
Rural North East Region
Towong Shire Council
aaron.scales@towong.vic.gov.au 
Cr Murray Emerson Cr Murray Emerson
Rural North West Region
Northern Grampians Shire Council
councillor@ngshire.vic.gov.au
Cr Kylie Grzybek  Cr Kylie Grzybek
Rural South Central Region
City of Greater Geelong
kgrzybek@geelongcity.vic.gov.au

MAV Board Responsibilities

The MAV Board’s key responsibilities are to:

  • define the detail of policies, objectives and strategies determined by State Council
  • set and evaluate directions, priorities and performance standards for the MAV
  • appoint the CEO and monitor his or her performance
  • liaise with MAV representatives from their regions.

The Rules empower the Board to pass codes of practice or protocols to supplement the Rules and guide office bearers, Board members and MAV representatives.

Board allowances and expenses

Our Board allowance and expense policy provides Board members with an annual allowance, paid quarterly in advance.

Board members are provided with a data allowance for accessing business papers via iPads and can claim out-of-pocket expenses for travel, parking, accommodation and meals when undertaking duties as a Board member.

The policy also allows for Board members to attend our Annual Conference, Councillor Development Weekend and other MAV events.

As of September 2021, current endorsed allowances are:

  • President $6,033.43 plus 10% superannuation (paid monthly)
  • Deputy president $3,731.61 plus 10% superannuation (paid quarterly)
  • Board member $2,540.86 plus 10% superannuation (paid quarterly)

Further information