Board

The MAV Board’s key responsibilities are to:

  • define the detail of policies, objectives and strategies determined by State Council
  • set and evaluate directions, priorities and performance standards for the MAV
  • appoint the CEO and monitor his or her performance
  • liaise with MAV representatives from their regions.

The Rules empower the Board to pass codes of practice or protocols to supplement the Rules and guide office bearers, Board members and MAV representatives.

MAV Board Members

President
Cr Mary Lalios
0447 189 409
City of Whittlesea
mlalios@mav.asn.au
Deputy President Metro
Cr Jami Klisaris
Metro South East
City of Stonnington
jklisaris@stonnington.vic.gov.au
Deputy President Rural
Cr David Clark
Rural South Central Region
Pyrenees Shire Council
ercildoune@pyrenees.vic.gov.au
Cr Josh Gilligan
Metro West Region
Wyndham City Council
josh.gilligan@wyndham.vic.gov.au
Cr Geoff Lake
Metro Southern Region
Monash City Council
geoff.lake@monash.vic.gov.au
Cr Rod Fyffe
Rural North Central Region
City of Greater Bendigo
r.fyffe@bendigo.vic.gov.au
Cr Gary Norton
Rural North West Region
Swan Hill Rural City Council
gary.norton@swanhill.vic.gov.au
​Cr Ruth Gstrein
Rural South West Region
Corangamite Shire Council
ruth.gstrein@corangamite.vic.gov.au
Cr Peter Perkins
Interface Region
Nillumbik Shire Council
peter.perkins@nillumbik.vic.gov.au
Cr Rohan Leppert
Metro Central Region
City of Melbourne
rohan.leppert@melbourne.vic.gov.au
Cr Tom Melican
Metro East Region
Banyule City Council
tom.melican@banyule.vic.gov.au
Cr Ronald Janas
Rural North East Region
Alpine Shire Council
ronj@alpineshire.vic.gov.au
Cr Malcolm Hole
Rural Gippsland Region
Wellington Shire Council
malcolm.hole@wellington.vic.gov.au

Board allowances and expenses

Our Board allowance and expense policy provides Board members with an annual allowance, paid quarterly in advance.

Board members are provided with a data allowance for accessing business papers via iPads and can claim out-of-pocket expenses for travel, parking, accommodation and meals when undertaking duties as a Board member.

The policy also allows for Board members to attend events including our Annual Conference, Councillor Development Weekend, Asset Management Conference and Future of Local Government Summit.

As of July 2017, current endorsed allowances are:

  • President $73,241.80 inc 9.5% superannuation
  • Deputy president $15,099.76 inc 9.5% superannuation
  • Board member $10,281.46 inc 9.5% superannuation.

Further information