Events and training

Victorian Councillor Service Awards

We recognise the contribution of all councillors and continue the tradition of conferring awards for long serving councillors.

The Victorian Councillor Service Awards comprise two awards:

  • Long service is recognised at 10, 15, 20, 25, 30 and 35 years' service.
  • The award of Mayor Emeritus recognises councillors who have served three or more full terms as mayor. A full term is considered 12 months.

The awards were conferred at the MAV Annual Dinner following the Annual Conference on Thursday 17 October 2019 at the Sofitel Hotel, Melbourne.

Queries in relation to the service awards should be directed to Denise Stolfa on 9667 5513 or email

2019 Councillor Service and Mayor Emeritus Awards

Congratulations to the latest recipients of our Victorian Councillor Service Awards.

Mayor Emeritus Awards
Cr Jennifer Anderson Macedon Ranges Shire Council
Cr Mary-Ann Brown Southern Grampians Shire Council
Cr Graeme Massey Yarriambiack Shire Council
Cr Amanda McClaren Strathbogie Shire Council
Cr Samantha McIntosh Ballarat City Council
Cr Anita Rank Glenelg Shire Council
Cr Narelle Sharpe Moonee Valley City Council
Cr Bob Turner Melton City Council
Cr Graeme Williams Strathbogie Shire Council
35 Years' Service Awards​
Cr Gwenda Allgood Ararat Rural City Council
Cr Len Cox OAM Yarra Ranges Shire Council
20 Years' Service Awards​
Cr Angela Altair Hobsons Bay City Council
Cr David Clark Pyrenees Shire Council
Cr Noel Cliff Yarra Ranges Shire Council
Cr Peter Hemphill Hobsons Bay City Council
Cr Angela Long Greater Dandenong City Council
15 Years' Service Awards​
Cr Colleen Condliffe Loddon Shire Council
Cr Dick Gross AM Port Phillip City Council
Cr Colin Hampton Frankston City Council
Cr Bruce Harwood Greater Geelong City Council
Cr Rose Hodge Surf Coast Shire Council
Cr Stephen Jolly Yarra City Council
Cr John Kavanagh Moreland City Council
Cr Chris Smith Colac Otway Shire Council
Cr Patrick Toohey Moorabool Shire Council
Cr Jean Wise Yarriambiack Shire Council
10 Years' Service Awards​
Cr Barbara Alexander AO Benalla Rural City Council
Cr Cathy Armstrong Southern Grampians Shire Council
Cr Carolyn Crossley Wellington Shire Council
Cr Geoffrey Curnow Loddon Shire Council
Cr Tim Heenan Yarra Ranges Shire Council
Cr Michael Heffernan Bayside City Council
Cr Christine Henderson Mount Alexander Shire Council
Cr Roger Jukes Macedon Ranges Shire Council
Cr Peter Kostos Baw Baw Shire Council
Cr Malcolm Little Strathbogie Shire Council
Cr Paul Macdonald Maroondah City Council
Cr Jim Magee Glen Eira City Council
Cr Peter Mansfield Moira Shire Council
Cr Jim McAliney JP Wyndham City Council
Cr Jill Parker Moyne Shire Council
Cr David Pollard Buloke Shire Council
Cr Colin Ryan Moyne Shire Council
Cr Ellen White Buloke Shire Council
Cr Mick Wolfe Moyne Shire Council
Cr Kylie Zanker Yarriambiack Shire Council

See award recipients from previous years.

Further information

For more information, contact:

Jeannie Gill
Manager, Learning and Events
(03) 9667 5557

Denise Stolfa
Learning and Events Officer
(03) 9667 5531